August ’13 Bucket List

Although we’re almost a week into August, we still have the rest of the month to squeeze in any last-minute summertime activities. Once September rolls around, I immediately get sucked into the “Halloween/crisp air/layers of clothing/new Fall tv shows/Pumpkin Spice Latte” mode that I am really starting to love. BUT, before this mode shift occurs, I’ve decided to make a short and sweet (and realistic) bucket list to wrap up the month of August and Summer 2013!

1. Hiking, Yikes

20130806-080612.jpg

whowhatwear.com

20130806-080618.jpg

polyvore.com

I wouldn’t consider myself super “outdoorsy”, but I think it’s good for the mind, body and soul to spend a day hiking. Get outside, sweat a little, swat a few bugs, and reach a point and feeling of accomplishment.  Go with the first outfit for a beginner’s hike on a not-so-treacherous route.  If you plan on getting down and dirty on a real-deal mountain, you will definitely need to invest in some hiking boots.

Check out these 6 hiking tips for beginners!

—-

2. Dinnertime Grillin’

20130806-080416.jpg

Grilling is a must in the summertime and I’ve been wanting to have a Kabob-a-palooza all summer now.  Slapping this on the bucket list seems silly but these recipes require a little more effort than your average dinner planning.  I’d love to make all 3 version and pair it with a side salad for a fresh and light meal on a Friday night with my honey or a small group of friends.  And you better believe I’ll be sippin’ on a margarita (salt, on the rocks) while I’m grilling!

Kalyn’s Kitchen – Steak and Mushroom Kabobs

Skinny Taste – Lime Cilantro Shrimp Kabobs

Betty Crocker – Teriyaki Chicken Kabobs

—-

3. Pool Party

I don’t have a pool in my backyard and unfortunately I don’t know anyone who has one, where I could just show up and plop myself in their water.  That’s when you have to make do with what you’ve got.  Be it the neighborhood community pool, or a local pool in your area, pack a small cooler (check the pool’s regulations, some don’t allow any outside food OR drinks in), a book, music, and most importantly, FRIENDS, and make a day of it. 

—-

4. DIY Project

20130805-213901.jpg

20130805-213849.jpg

A great way to keep the summertime vibe alive during the transition into fall is your decor.  I wanted to find a DIY project that was “beachy”, yet not typical.  I have seen on various blogs and websites a a super easy and inexpensive way to jazz up seashells.  Using spray paint, you can transform a typical seashell into a work of art. This blogger gave a great tutorial on chroming shells she found on the beach.  My plan is to do the same, but use a matte black spray paint instead to give it a very unique and funky look.  If you’re unable to collect your own beach shells, Michael’s has a great variety of cheap shells you can decorate yourself!

5. Circufairnival (Circus + Fair + Carnival) 

I NEED to go to a circus, or a fair, or a carnival–BADLY!  I love the atmosphere of a the lights, the smell of the food, the animals, people watching, the shows, etc. These events can be pricey, so be aware of the money you’ll be forking over!  This is also a great opportunity to wear something fun and festive! 

Leave a Reply

