Gourmet Turkey Burger, with a Kick!

Nothing compares to a damn good burger.  I’ve had my fair share of greasy, bacon wrapped, cheesy, juicy, ridiculously delicious burgers.  Unfortunately, the older I’ve gotten, the more I realize that I might as well staple those burgers to my thighs and rear end.  Gravity and age are no longer on my side, which is why I’ve turned to a healthier version of one of my favorite dishes. 

While I’m sure there are thousands of turkey burger recipes out there similar to this, I wanted to give you MY take on a healthy and filling burger.  This gourmet style bruger is packed with a punch; not for the faint of heart!

Ingredients:

  • ground turkey (1lb. makes about 4 burgers)
  • fresh cilantro
  • jalapenos
  • pepper jack cheese
  • fresh garlic
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil

20130713-122916.jpg

 

20130713-122930.jpg

Form ground turkey into patties.  I like to ball up the meat and flatten with my palms so that the edges are jagged and not perfectly round.  Call me crazy, but I firmly believe this “old school” shaped pattie makes a difference in the taste of the burger.   I also make my patties HUGE and flat; they will thicken up as they cook.  Season both sides with salt and pepper and set aside.

20130713-122944.jpg

Chop about 3 garlic cloves.  Add a thin layer of olive oil to pan on low heat and toss in the garlic. 

20130713-123003.jpg

Cut jalapenos into thin slices and chop the cilantro. 

20130713-123017.jpg

Add jalapeno slices and chopped cilantro into pan with garlic to saute; increase heat to just below medium.

20130713-123022.jpg

Add the seasoned patties to the pan; directly on top of the sauteed mix.

20130713-123028.jpg

Increase heat as necessary until patties are fully cooked.

20130713-123034.jpg

Once the patties are fully cooked, add slices of pepper jack cheese and take the jalapenos and cilantro on the pan to layer on top of the patty. 20130713-123040.jpg

20130713-123046.jpg

I like to add Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce for dipping and pair this with sweet potato fries, a side salad, or corn on the cob.  It’s a zesty and light meal, perfect for summertime.  Use reduced fat cheese, no dipping sauce, and no bun if you’re looking to be extra healthy!

 

FIND US ON INSTAGRAM

@alex_bubblyonabudget

@kristin_bubblyonabudget

One thought on “Gourmet Turkey Burger, with a Kick!

Leave a Reply

