DIY Day of Wedding Shirt

I am currently planning my wedding and have been creating a million lists of things I need to do and things I need to make.  One thing on my list has been a shirt to wear the day of the wedding when I’m getting ready.  Two of my sisters have already gotten married and as a result, we have a bunch of bride shirts.  To me, these shirts are not extremely practical.  On Pinterest, I have seen brides, bridesmaids, and others getting ready wearing button ups.  That is a cute idea, but I wanted to do something different.  That is where this post came from.  I thought it would be a great idea if you could have a shirt that tied in the back.  This would make it easy to get off and would keep my makeup and hair flawless.  If you can sew (either by hand or with a machine) a line about an inch, this will be the easiest thing you DIY for your wedding.

DSC_9825-edit

You will need:

  • shirt
  • scissors
  • ribbon
  • sewing machine or needle and thread
  • 2 sewing pins (accidentally left out of picture)

DSC_9826-edit

I started by removing the label, so, it would not get in the way.  Then, fold the shirt in half vertically.  This helps you put your cut in the center of the shirt.  Cut along the fold.  BE SURE TO ONLY CUT THROUGH THE BACK LAYER OF THE SHIRT.  Cut all the way down the shirt.

DSC_9830-edit

Now you have the front preserved and the back cut vertically down the middle.

DSC_9833-edit

Next, cut two pieces of ribbon the same size.  My ribbon pieces were about 18 inches each.  I prefer to have them too long.  They can always be cut when you try the shirt on.

DSC_9839-edit

(sorry for the picture quality, my shadow must have shown up)  Take one side of the ribbon and fold it over twice.  This will cover up the raw end and keep it from unraveling.  After folding, you will pin it to the top inside of the shirt.  Make sure you pin it to the inside of the shirt.  This will keep the fold from showing when you wear the shirt.

DSC_9840-edit

Use the sewing machine or a needle and thread to stitch a line down the ribbon.  Be sure to back stitch when you start and when you end to make the ribbon more secure.  Also, make sure you cut the bottom of the ribbon diagonally.  This will keep the bottom of the ribbon from unraveling.

DSC_9843-edit

DSC_9845-edit

DSC_9846-edit

DSC_9849-edit

That’s it!  That easy!  You can personalize the front to say bride or your wedding date.  I think I will be adding a big ring made out of rhinestones when I have more time.  I will post pictures with my final product at a later date.

2 thoughts on “DIY Day of Wedding Shirt

    • We totally agree; this would be perfect for prom, military balls, homecoming, etc. With the beautiful weather right around the corner, this could also be a fun everday shirt as well.

Leave a Reply

