DIY Jewelry Box ; Anthropologie Inspired

There is a jewelry box on Anthropologie.com that I instantly fell in love with.  Oh yay, it’s only $168.  But, I knew this would be something anyone could recreate, for well under that price.  I find the jewelry box to be a beautiful contrast between the hard bark and the shining amethyst.  Because I am a frequent shopper at Michael’s Arts and Crafts, I knew they would have similar supplies that I could work with.

26420323_095_b

Anthropologie.com “Twinkling Trove” Jewelry Box $168.00 – $198.00

You will need:

  • 3″ clay pot $.89
  • 3″ clay saucer $.79
  • Super glue $2.99
  • Amethyst/crystal lookalike $6.99

IMG_1397

I chose to work with a clay pot and clay saucer as my “tree stump”, and the amethyst from a necklace chain as my handle.  As always, be sure to place your project in a safe space that you don’t mind getting permanently ruined.  Place your clay pot and saucer inside the box, outside.  I placed the pot on top of an empty water bottle so that as I spin the clay pot while spraying, I wouldn’t have to touch the actual pot.

IMG_1398

I actually started with  the inside of the pot so that I could just flip it over onto the empty water bottle.  Shake spray paint can for about 1 minute.  Spray evenly over surfaces of pot and saucer.

IMG_1400

IMG_1401

Let dry for an hour and apply a second coat of paint if necessary.  Let sit completely for about 3 hours, or overnight if possible.  Squeeze a good amount of glue onto the back of your amethyst/crystal and attach to the top of the saucer.

IMG_1417

IMG_1418

IMG_1420

I used a clay pot to keep the earthy vibe, but you could use a tin can, a paper box, or just jazz up a plain jewelry box you already have.  Don’t limit yourself!

image

Any questions, just ask (bubblyonabudget@gmail.com)!  Any comments, type away!

Follow us on Instagram:

@kristin_bubblyonabudget

@alex_bubblyonabudget

6 thoughts on “DIY Jewelry Box ; Anthropologie Inspired

  1. I really enjoy your blog so I am nominating you for the Liebster Award. You do not have to participate but I love the idea of sparking creativity in someone and you have certainly caused me to think in new ways. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

