DIY Birthday Card ; Hokie Style

This card is exactly why I’m obsessed with making my own  greeting cards.  The recipient of the card graduated from Virginia Tech and like all VT alumni that I know, still maintains a deeply rooted passion for their alma mater.  I love CREATING a gift for someone, even something as simple as card, that I know you can’t find anywhere else because it’s been made JUST for that person. 

IMG_1285

Think of all the people you know who are obsessed with sports teams… it’s a great way to do something thoughtful for someone without spending a huge chunk of change.

  You will need:

  • cutting board for straight edge
  • scardstock scrapbook paper 
  • thin sharpie pen to write out “Happy Birthday”
  • self-adhesive glitter dots $2-$5 depending on the brand and type
  • tape runner $3-$6 depending on the length and brand
  • white and diamond brads $3.49
  • folding notecard and envelope $10.99 for a pack of 40
  • a printer with glossy paper for a finished look to print out recipient’s name (OPTIONAL)

*Note: all of these supplies can be found at Michael’s Arts & Crafts and will last for MANY cards and crafts

IMG_1283

My idea behind this card was that I knew I wanted to use a Hokie claw print, so I worked around that idea.  I drew the hokie print on the backside of the orange cardstock and cut it out.  Then I applied it to a white piece of cardstick and cut around the hokie print outline. 

IMG_1282

I’m a big fan of minimalism so I tried to keep it simple by making the print the standout point.  And it wouldn’t be a birthday card without some sparkle and shine.   I added a glittery orange stud, a couple of white and diamond brads.  I handwrote the “Happy Birthday”, but you can easily type that out and print onto paper to add to the card.

IMG_1284

Are there any sports teams you’d like to see featured as a birthday card theme??  Let us know!

 

Any questions, just ask (bubblyonabudget@gmail.com)!  Any comments, type away!

Follow us on Instagram:

@kristin_bubblyonabudget

@alex_bubblyonabudget

Leave a Reply

